Events

Spring 2017:

Thursday March 9, 6:00pm – 8:00pm, Klarman Auditorium
“An Evening of Spoken Work with National Poetry Slam Champion Porsha O”

Tuesday March 7, 12:00pm, 190 Rockefeller Hall
“Performing La Mujer Nueva:  Chicana Artists and Activists in the Movement”

Wednesday March 1, 4:30 pm, 165 McGraw Hall
“After the End of the World:  Black/Queer Life and the Anthropocene”

_________________________________________________________________________

Fall 2016

Friday, Saturday, Sunday, December 2 8pm, December 3 8pm, December 4 3pm, – Hangar Theatre
“Opera Ithaca: Thumbprint”

Friday, December 2, 2016- 4:30pm – 258 Goldwin Smith Hall
“The Data of Cultural Inequality.” Andrew Piper, McGill University”

Friday, December 2, 2016- 12:00pm – 404 Morrill Hall
“Some Ethico-Aesthetic Problems in the Theory of Civil Disobedience: Rethinking the Exemplarity of the Civil Rights Movement.”

Thursday, November 17, 2016- 4:30-6pm – 120 Physical Sciences Building
“The State of Ethnic, LGBT, Feminist Gender Sexuality Studies”

Tuesday, November 15, 2016- 4:30pm – Goldwin Smith Hall 142
“Visual Culture Colloquium On Post-Blackness: Queer Satire in 21st Century African-American Art”

Monday, November 14, 2016- 4:30-6pm – Goldwin Smith Hall, Lewis Auditorium
“The Making of the President 2016: Issues and Processes, Hopes and Fears”

Thursday, November 10, 2016- 7:30pm – Schwartz Center for Performing Arts
“AFTER ORLANDO Staged Reading”

Monday, November 7, 2016- 5:45pm-7:00pm – Flora Rose House Common Room
“Table Talk-Social Media and the Politics of Gender: The 2016 Election”

Thursday, November 3, 2016- 5:00pm – Ives 305
“Adding It Up: Economic Consequences of Sexual Assault”

Tuesday, November 1, 2016- 5:30pm – Townhouse Community Center
“Pretty Hurts: Women of Color and Body Politics”

Tuesday, November 1, 2016- 5:00pm – Warren 151
“Suited Film Screening”

November 1-5, 2016 – Ithaca, NY
“Punkfest Cornell: Anarchy in the Archives” 

Friday, October 28, 2016- 10:00am-12:00pm – 258 Goldwin Smith Hall
“Seminar with Jeffrey Masten: Queer Philologies”

Thursday, October 27, 2016- 4:30pm – Hollis E. Cornell Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall
“The Paul Gottschalk Memorial Lecture with Jeffrey Masten: Queer Reformations”

Monday, October 17, 2016- 4:30pm – Africana Studies and Research Center
“Witness Project/We See You: Opening reception” 

Tuesday, October 4, 2016- 4:30pm – ASRC Multipurpose Room
Featuring Elaine Brown and Noliwe Rooks
“Radical Reform and New Age Racism in America: a Conversation”

Thursday, September 22, 2016- 7:15pm – Cornell Cinema
“Beyonce’s LEMONADE: The Aesthetics and Style of Race, Gender, and Politics”

Thursday, September 22, 2016- 4:30pm-6pm – 124 Lincoln Hall
“CU Music: Musicology Colloquium, Annette Richards presents ‘Glass Music and the Virgin Warrior’”

Wednesday, September 21, 2016- 5:00pm – Africana Studies and Research Center, Hoyt Fuller Room
“Wednesdays, Words and Wine – The Hoyt Fuller Literary Salon: Dr. Gloria Joseph, ‘The Wind is Spirit: The Life, Love, and Legacy of Audre Lorde’”

Wednesday, September 14, 2016- 3pm- Klarman Auditorium
“Freedom Interrupted: Race, Gender, Nation and Policing: A Cornell Campus Community Conversation”

Thursday, September 8, 2016- 4:30pm-6pm- Physical Sciences Building, Baker Portico
All-Campus LGBTQQIA+ Welcome Reception

Thursday, September 2, 2016- 12pm-1:30pm – Kahin Center
SEAP Gatty Lecture Series- “Queertopia: Early 20th-Century Bangkok’s Homosocial Landscapes”

Wednesday, August 31, 4:30pm-6pm- Rockefeller Terrace/ Physical Sciences Patio
FGSS and LGBT Studies Welcome Reception

 

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Spring 2016

Friday May 6, 2016- 1:30pm- 5:00pm- ILR Conference Center, Room 423
SAP 2016 Symposium- Gujarat/ Guatemala: Marketing Care and Speculating Life

Friday April 22, 2016- 3:30pm- 5:00pm- 215 McGraw Hall
Emily Martin, NYU
Anthropology Colloquium: Emily Martin

Thursday April 21, 2016- 4:30pm-6pm, Guerlac Room, A.D. White House
Robert Mills, University College London
‘Always Contemporary’: Derek Jarman’s Anachronisms and the Middle Ages Out of Bounds

Wednesday April 20, 2016- 7:00pm-8:30pm, WSH Memorial Room
Queer Week Keynote Speaker: Robyn Ochs
Beyond Binaries: Identity and Sexuality

April 14-16, 2016- 7:30pm, Schwartz Black Box Theatre
PMA students, experimental solo performance festival
AGIT Lab Presents: “The Kids (a Glimpse of Shade)” and “Speaking Out of Turn: A Feminist Story Circle”

Wednesday April 13, 2016- 4:30pm, Klarman Auditorium
Paula Vogel M.A. ’76, Yale
Concert reading of Paula Vogel’s play “Indecent”

Tuesday, April 12, 2016 at 7:00pm- Willard Straight Theatre
An Evening with Silas Howard (w/ Silas Howard via Skype)

Monday, April 11, 2016 at 6:00pm- Call Auditorium, Kennedy Hall
Kate Harding, author
Asking For It: The Alarming Rise of Rape Culture- and What We Can Do About It

Thursday, March 24, 2016 to 7:15pm- Rockefeller Hall, 374
Re-occurring event, other dates include April 5th, April 7th, April 21st
The 1st East Asia Graduate Colloquium

Monday, March 21, 2016 at 12:15pm- G08 Uris Hall
Svati Shah, Amherst College
Temporality, Space and Sexuality in India

Friday, March 18 – 4:30 pm, Klarman Hall
Hortense Spillers, Vanderbilt University
The ‘Flesh’ of the Matter: A Hortense Spillers Symposium” – Keynote Lecture

Thursday, March 17, 2016, 5pm – Africana Studies and Research Center
Gina Athena Ulysse – Guest Lecture, Wesleyan University
A feminist artist-anthropologist-activist and a self-proclaimed Post-Zora Interventionist, she earned her Ph.D. in anthropology from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. 

Thursday, March 10 – 7:00 PM, Newman Arena in Bartels Hall
Free
and open to the public
Athlete Ally hosts an event with Megan Rapinoe

Wednesday, March 9, 2016, 4:30 – Chats in the Stacks, 107 Olin Library
Lucinda Ramberg, Cornell University
Given to the Goddess: South Indian Devadasis and the Sexuality of Religion

Monday, March 7 – 7:00pm to 8:30 pm, Willard Straight Theatre
Riot Acts – Ithaca Premiere! FREE admission.
LGBT Studies & Cornell Cinema present a film screening and director Q&A
with Madsen Minax.

Monday, March 7- 4:30pm to 6:00pm, Goldwin Smith Hall, Kaufmann Auditorium
CCCI: China’s ‘Leftover’ Women and the End of the One-Child Policy
Professor Leta Hong Fincher, Lecturer, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Thursday, March 3- 4:30pm to 6:00pm, Lewis Auditorium, G76 Goldwin Smith Hall
American Studies Program presents: 2016 Krieger Lecture in American Political Culture with Ruth Gilmore
“Organized Abandonment and Organized Violence: Devolution and the Police.”

Friday, February 26, 2016- 4:30pm- 6pm- 106G Olin Library
Wikipedia: Art + Feminism

Thursday, February 25, 2016- 12:00pm- 1:30pm- Kahin Center
Farid Muttaqin, SUNY Binghamton
SEAP Gatty Lecture Series: “The Politics of Gender and Sexuality of Fundamentalist Muslims and the Politics of Knowledge Production of Feminist Groups in Contemporary Indonesia”

Thursday, February 11 – 4:30pm, Lewis Auditorium, Goldwin Smith Hall
The Society for the Humanities presents Professor Elizabeth A. Povinelli
Plenary Lecture: Toxic Sovereignties in Geontopower

Wednesday, February 10, 2016- 8pm- Barnes Hall Auditorium
Sarah Davis Buechner, classical pianist
CCS Presents Sarah Davis Buechner

Wednesday, February 3, 2016- 4:45pm-6:15pm- Sage Chapel
Alicia Garza, Opal Tometi, Janaya Khan
2016 Martin Luther King Jr. Commemorative Lecture

Friday, January 29, 2016- 7pm- 9pm- G10 Biotech
Sister Outsider Poetry
For more information please contact jy679@cornell.edu

Thursday, January 28, 2016- 12:00pm- 1:30pm- Kahin Center
Tamara Ho, UC Riverside
SEAP Gatty Lecture Series: “Daughters and Diaspora: Burmese Narratives and Interventions in the Twenty-First Century”

Wednesday, January 20, 2016- 4:00pm-5:00pm – online
I
leen DeVault, Cornell University & Genna Suraci, Ulster BOCES Career &Tech Center
The Gendered Workplace and the LGBTQ Community in K-12 Environment

Fall 2015

Tuesday, Sep. 15, 2015 – 4:30pm to 6:00pm – Lewis Auditorium, Goldwin Smith
Elizabeth Freeman, UC Davis
The Work of Sex in the Age of Digital Reproduction: Gerard & Kelly’s Kisses

Thursday, Oct. 8, 2015 at 4:30 – Goldwin Smith 258
Stephan Pennington, Tufts University
Billy Tipton’s “My Wubba Dolly”: Transgender Negative Disidentification and Racialized Femininity

Friday, October 16, 2015 at 5:15 – 258 Goldwin Smith
Valerie Traub, University of Michigan
Anatomy, Cartography, and the Prehistory of Normality

Friday, Oct. 30, 2015 at 3:30 – McGraw 165
Ruth Behar, University of Michigan
My Jewish Journeys in Spain, Cuba, and Academia

Thursday, Nov. 10, 2015 – room TBD
Joshua Takano Chambers-Letson, Northwestern

History of Art Visual Culture Colloquium

Monday, Nov. 16, 4:30 – Guerlac Room/A.D. White House
Dirk Uffelmann, University of Passau
Paradoxical Self-Proletarianization and the Intersection of Gender and Class in Prose by Polish Migrants to Germany, Ireland, and the UK

Friday, Nov. 20, 4:30 – Guerlac Room/A.D. White House
Mel Y. Chen, UC Berkeley
The Stuff of Slow Constitution

IvyQ at Cornell – November 12-15, 2015